Outright Records Home Latest News Discographies Artists New Artists Folk Blues Forums


Bless The Weather (Remastered)
Universal Records 983 073-1 (2005)

Bless The Weather

Album available as:-
(Universal Records 983 073-1)

Bless the Weather, the first release following two records with his wife Beverley, is a transitional effort for John Martyn. The Glasgow-born singer-songwriter's third solo album emphasizes a darker, smokier sound built around his increasingly jazzy vocals, plus sometimes aggressive, sometimes gentle acoustic guitar work, and Danny Thompson's double bass, which skirts in and out around Martyn's voice and guitar. It also contains the extended instrumental "Glistening Glyndebourne," which highlights his early experimentation with the Echoplex, a sound that would become a major part of his work in the coming years. Bless the Weather, with songs such as the title cut and "Head and Heart," stands as a fine representation of Martyn's early work.

- Brett Hartenbach (AMG)

Released in November 1971 "Bless The Weather" was an album of pure, simple but mature songs which John says was 'very innocent, very beautiful and a pleasure to make'. Some of the songs were written in the studio on the day they were recorded, satisfying John's desire to be spontaneous. Danny Thompson provided bass accompaniment and Richard Thompson, Tony Reeves (Colosseum), Ian Whiteman and Roger Powell (Mighty Baby) all played on the album. "Glistening Glyndebourne" showcased John's technique of playing acoustic guitar through the echoplex to stunning effect, although Rolling Stone magazine dismissed the track as "rambling !"

"Most of the songs on Bless The Weather were very quick. I'd been writing songs in the studio on the day they were recorded. It's much nicer like that...to be spontaneous. There was no re-writing, it just came out very naturally. I much prefer that approach," said John, "People kind of sat up and took notice of me after that album, I don't know why..."

- John Hillarby (The John Martyn Website)

Track Listing:

1. Go Easy (Martyn) - 4:14
2. Bless the Weather (Martyn) - 4:27
3. Sugar Lump (Martyn) - 3:40
4. Walk on the Water (Martyn) - 2:46
5. Just Now (Martyn) - 3:36
6. Head and Heart (Martyn) - 4:52
7. Let the Good Things Come (Martyn) - 3:02
8. Back Down the River (Martyn) - 2:37
9. Glistening Glyndebourne (Martyn) - 6:30
10. Singin' in the Rain (Brown/Freed) - 1:28
11. Walk To The Water (take 3/bonus track)
12. Bless The Weather (take 4/bonus track)
13. Back Down The River (take 1/bonus track)
14. Go Easy (take 1/bonus track)
15. Glistening Glyndebourne (take 2/bonus track)
16. Head And Heart (band version/previously unreleased/bonus track)
17. May You Never (single version/bonus track)

John Martyn - Guitar, Vocals
Danny Thompson - Double Bass







o polution